Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

... Meet Mitsy

Meet Mitsy, one of the Hillside Chippies, who was attempting to aim her peanut at me in a shameless attempt to get more peanuts. Yes, I was help up at peanut-point. It was a deck side robbery.

Okay, well, that may be a bit of literary license. I guess because it is fall-like, the chippies are in overdrive trying to build up their winter larders. Yesterday I saw three of them cleaning up spilled birdseed on the patio, and today this one came right up on the deck while I was on the phone, looking like she was ready to tackle me for food. I've arbitrarily assigned female gender to her because I've read that female chipmunks are generally tamer than males. And this one came right up and took a peanut out of my hands. And she isn't Mimsy. How do I know? Because Mim has a little notch in her ear and little Mitsy here doesn't. And Mitsy ran back to the hill out back which is the opposite of Mimsy's permanent resident in the rock wall out front. So, there you have it.

Ironically, I also blipped a rodent last year on this day - something karmic about this, don't you think?

I had a very busy day today so only got about a half hour outside with my camera. I was all set to blip one of the adorable Carolina Wrens when Mitsy showed up and stole the show. My back up was a close up of one of the Terrific Tufted Timice (3 T's) or possibly Gesundheit!! Chippies rule.

Thank you for sending yesterday's hummingbird to the SL page - that was a lovely surprise!

On tap for tomorrow is another attempt to capture the finch with conjunctivitis. Hoping maybe hubs can help me trap the little guy. Wish me luck...

Happy Friday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.