WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Crowd

Every day in summer I go to the swimming pool in the village when it opens at 10 a.m., and almost always have it to myself (or at the most share it with a couple of people). As you can see, this morning was a bit different. I like swimming meditatively up and down without having to pay much attention to anyone else, but I managed to get most of my 20 lengths in before the first batch of kids hit the water with loud splashes. There must have been 100 children divided into groups, having some kind of inter-village sports day. I made my escape when the second group arrived.

This evening, a different kind of crowd at our neighbour's fortnightly booze-up wine tasting. I may have got the ratio of wine to food wrong, as when I got home hours later, I went straight to bed forgetting about the bread dough I'd left rising on the worktop. By the time I groggily surfaced this morning, it was crawling out of the very large bowl it was in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.