gennepher

By gennepher

I was out ...

...very early this morning. Quite a bit of driving to do. I was meeting my best friend for the first time with the cochlear processor mapping that I have now. We cannot usually meet as much in the summer because of school holidays and her grandchildren.

With this current cochlear mapping, her voice sounds very sharp. I am still trying to figure out her sounds as words, so I am relying mostly on lip reading. Her voice doesn't sound like it has ever sounded with the previous mappings.

It doesn't feel like I am talking to my friend who I have known for 46 years. From the way her voice sounds with this mapping, it feels like I am talking to a stranger. She is talking about stuff I have seen her talk about before, but the voice is sharp, intonations don't sound right.

She looks and behaves like the friend I know, but the sound of the speech is from another person. So, it feels like there is a dissonance there.

I mean everyone's voice has changed since the last cochlear remapping, obviously, but because I am talking to just one person solidly (instead of talking to my friends in a group where the voices alternate or there are part unfinished sentences) for a good few hours, or rather she is doing most of the talking and I am listening & lipreading, I am then very aware how much has changed in one person's voice. It is not just the sound, but intonation as well, meaning, emotion, and much more. I cannot use the clues within the voice because the old clues are not there any more. I don't know how well I am explaining this. I feel I am floundering trying to explain.

Maybe a better way to explain would be to say, put a completely different dialect/way of talking from another part of the country on to a person you know talks in their particular way. It is a mismatch, and it would take you aback and you wouldn't feel comfortable. The information within the voice you are listening to has gone. I am hearing more detail within the voice than before, but that still doesn't mean I can necessarily hear what they are saying at the moment.

By the time I got home, and after doing food shopping so I can stay at home the next few days, it was 6pm, and I am overtired and felt ready for bed, but I hadn't done my painting for today. No chance of doing anything. So I did this flower on one of my apps on the iPad.

I was meditating awhile this morning when I woke up, and Brain presented me with a whole pile of drawings and paintings I could do in the SketchesPro App. There were two that struck me as interesting. One was a comic Noir type of illustration which I want to do sometime, and the other was this simple flower. So simple flower with no leaves it is!

So, this is my pic for today for my challenge to myself of a pic every day in 2017. It was done in the SketchesPro App.

I am also entering this for biker bear's flower Friday 28.

By the way I saw some different food colouring colours while I was out, and am sure I recalled a home made recipe somewhere for making alcohol inks with food colouring...so I got a few and I have enough odds and ends of containers and pipettes and stuff, as well as the Isopropyl, so this weekend I might cobble something up...

I will reply to earlier comments, and look at your blogs tomorrow...I need sleep at the moment...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.