Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Fail to prepare......

.....prepare to fail. 

I'm a great believer in this approach.  Tomorrow I shoot my first wedding.  I've been researching lots, getting my head around posing the wedding party (I don't tend to have this problem with trees and clouds!).  Fortunately the weather is reasonable during the day, but I've still put together a kit for lighting, just in case.  I'm glad I've picked up various different lighting kit over the years.  I'm hoping it won't be needed, save for some fill flash if it get's bright and contrasty, but if it is everything will be in the car.

The bride and groom are family friends, have put no pressure on me at all, in fact they seem very laid back about the whole thing, but I still want to do a great job for them.  

One thing all of the research has done is rekindle a wish to do some more studio/environmental portraiture.  I've been amazed at what can be achieved with good lighting .  Maybe my photography will go in a different direction.  You never know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.