*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

Hockney

Upsetting day.

Had a nice, quiet morning at Salts Mill - I hadn't been for ages and enjoyed wandering about browsing.

In the afternoon I saw a young woman having a complete mental breakdown in Shipley. I still feel haunted by it. I felt empathy ("but for the grace of god") but utterly helpless and useless. And felt sad for both her and the people who were trying to help her. I'm still dwelling on it now and hoping that she is safe and someone, somewhere, is caring for her. The provision for mental illness is nowhere near adequate. If she'd been a person with cancer, or a physical illness, in that much agony I don't believe I'd have witnessed a scene like that.  

For someone supposedly lacking in empathy, I have empathy that most people wouldn't even comprehend.

Back-blip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.