Sunrise at Stansted airport

We arrived at Stansted only a little late just before midnight and prepared to sit on rather uncomfortable chairs in the Arrivals 'lounge'. We didn't want to waste money on a hotel room for a just a few ours as we had a train to catch at Paddington at 8-15am.

Helena managed to stretch out and sleep in short bursts, but I found it harder. I sat and watched the strange life of an airport in the high tourist season and managed a couple of drinks of tequila from my duty-free bottle, with some tasty freshly squeezed grapefruit juice. 

I noticed the light changing through the airport ceiling and went to get a black coffee which I took outside the entrance. there this dawn scene greeted so I couldn't resist snapping away, as it isn't a normal time for me to be awake.

We got the train at 6pm taking us to Liverpool Street station, where we caught the tube train round to Paddington. The sun was still shining when we ascended from the underground, although not for much longer, and we were able to sit under the wonderful Brunel designed roof waiting for the train. I tried to keep awake on the journey, but dozed in fits and starts although I managed to stay awake for the amazing last part of the train journey from Swindon to Stroud, down the Golden Valley. It was lovely to come home but we are still missing the holiday setting. Boo hoo. Must save up for another trip there asap.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.