Red, Green, and Blue

By GemmoMC

iPhone 5

I live in a decadent country. Materialism is king and simplicity is defined by tech companies trying to sell us products that will simplify our lives. In this world I desire a simple life. I desire a world where I am free from material, detached from the earthly. However, despite my weak attempts to live a uncomplicated life, the world calls me to participate in a materialistic culture.

Today I purchased the new iPhone. I purchased it not because I needed it, but because something within me said to buy it. I really don't need it. My life would not be any different if I didn't have it. I could have just saved my money for some greater purpose.

Recently, I've been feeling a bit down. I feel like my life doesn't have purpose. I find no satisfaction from work. In fact I have no work to do at work. If that weren't the case this post wouldn't be so glum. I have a lot to be thankful for. God has given me so many blessings, which I am grateful for everyday. But I feel there's something missing. I need to put a meaning to my existence.

Gosh, if picking up and putting oneself somewhere new were so much easier, maybe I would find more satisfaction in my life.

All this to say, I'M BORED.

btw, in what should be exciting news:
-I took a mental health sick day today!
-I got the last iPhone 5 in that model!
-I saw Endeavour fly through my neighborhood!
-And I went to a meet up tonight to speak French!
(but there was a jerk who said some snarky comment about me and it's adding to my sadness)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.