Red, Green, and Blue

By GemmoMC

Labor Day

In most of the world Labor Day is my birthday, May 1. In the United States, it's the first Monday of September. I once heard some woman at work call the international Labor Day the communist labor day.

I was taken aback. "Excuse me? What did you say?" I thought. I couldn't believe what came out of her mouth. Such a generalization on a day that's celebrated in most countries in the world. I think what bothers me is the air of insensitivity she expressed.

Anyhow, here's my aunt and my aunt's former sister-in-law, whom I call "auntie." They share similar stories and I think it's their similar background that gives them a special bond. Helps that "auntie" is always so optimistic and excited about life.

We spent labor day at Irvine Park peddle boating and riding a double surrey. I sure did get my exercise for the day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.