Blips Of Faith And Devotion

The last in my occasional series of rock concert brochure blips, at least until I go to another rock concert, I suppose.

This one is from 1993 when I went to see Depeche Mode perform at Crystal Palace on their Devotional Tour. A great concert supported by the Sisters Of Mercy. Oh how I would have loved to have seen Andrew Eldritch and Dave Gahan perform something together but, alas, it was not to be.

I believe this was the first time Crystal Palace was used as a rock concert venue. That would explain why the exit procedure seemed such a shambles. It took so long to vacate the stadium that I missed the last train back to Portsmouth. Oh well, I guess I'll just sit on Crystal Palace Railway Station. No dice. They close the station after the last train. OK, I'll sit in the bus shelter then. Well, Lambeth does not seem to be the safest of towns in which to spend the night in a bus shelter so, after about twenty nerve-wracking minutes, I went to a police station and asked if I could spend the night in their lobby. They let me do so. So now I can pretend to be well 'ard and say, with all sincerity, that I spent the night in a cop shop in Lambeth.

To all those Sisters Of Mercy fans who left the venue after the Sisters performed their set, here's a taste of what you missed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.