Selfies from the Brink

By Markus_Hediger

Sweeping the Garden of Allah

My family has the incredible privilege of living in a tiny piece of heaven. Our street is called Jardim de Alá, "Garden of Allah". You will find gardens of Allah all over Brazil (streets, parks, neighbourhoods). I haven't figured out where this fascination with the gardens of Allah comes from, but I must say I like that name. When we were looking for a house one and a half years ago and I heard that name, I knew this was the street we were moving into. It was in this street that I rediscovered my passion for photography, it was here that I learned to find beauty in everything. 
The "Garden of Allah" isn't very beautiful in itself. The street is unpaved, and when it rains it turns into a big mud hole. 
The garden of Allah taught me two things: Heaven is not a place out of this world. Heaven isn't even a synonym of external beauty. Heaven can be everywhere. 
I have found heaven so many times since I took up photography. I wanted to shoot something specific, and the moment I released the shutter, life added a little detail, a little gift, that made that picture dear to my heart. Like here: The woman sweeping the street in front of her house is Dona Lucinda, a lady of about 70 years of age. The moment I released the shutter, her movements or a gust of wind made her dress dance and added grace to her figure. I wouldn't have noticed it hadn't I been looking through my camera. 
Oh, and I almost forgot: When the morning sun shines on those mud holes in Allah's Garden, you understand why they say that in heaven the streets are made of gold. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.