Backblip: Sunset over Tynemouth

Two consecutive days of backblipping - I must be backsliding!

Anyway I was late home again (half past midnight is definitely late for me these days!) after a 40th-year reunion of those of us who qualified in Medicine at Newcastle University back in 1977 (I split my medical course between Oxford and Newcastle so I have loyalties to both universities). The organisers had arranged to hire a pleasure boat for a trip down the Tyne, from Newcastle to Tynemouth and back, and very luckily we had a lovely evening for it. I'd decided not to take my "proper" camera in case I got too "pelatick" (Geordie for "drunk") to look after it (not really, I only had 2 glasses of bubbly) but had intended to take lots of photos on my phone: in the event I was so busy nattering that I only took a few. However I quite like this somewhat fuzzy view of Tynemouth taken through the window of the boat, which produced some slightly weird reflections.

There were about 100 of us in the year and about half were able to make it to the reunion - one from New Zealand! - along with about 20 partners. We'd circulated up-to-date photos of ourselves beforehand to make recognition easier on the night: some of us had changed very little, some rather more(!). Inevitably a few are sadly no longer on this mortal coil and it was a bit scary to hear how many had experienced a variety of brushes with ill health, to which regrettably medics are not immune. But it was great to share stories and experiences and to wonder together where all those intervening years had gone (I think I must be getting old!).

(Looks best large.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.