... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Coliseum

Back blip.
Press "L" for large: is this a true mosaic (see below)?

Last night I went to see the ENO perform The Magic Flute at the London Coliseum: it was a wonderful production (despite being in English... It was a sharp and witty translation) and I thoroughly enjoyed it!

I took this photo on my way out: this is the Byzantine mosaic dome of the vestibule. Apparently (according to the description on a Flickr user's photograph) it is not actually a mosaic, but a painting with glass mosaic tiles laid over it to make it appear like a true mosaic. On closer inspection of my photograph, I'm not entirely convinced by this because I would expect glass to reflect just the ambient light and not the colours underneath (but perhaps reflective paint was used, and it is reflecting through the glass...); either way, it is very eye catching (or gaudy), and glimmers in the light very well.

p.s. Spot the waterfowl!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.