... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

European Garden Spider

This is one of 6 pictures that I took today with my camera; I also took a few pictures of friends on my phone (with which I was very unimpressed).
This is a female European garden spider (Araneus diadematus): it is a very common species of orb-weaver... The markings on the dorsal side of the abdomen (which form a distinctive white cross formed of spots) are rather pretty, and leave the species with a variety of descriptive common names including the cross spider, diadem spider, or cross orb-weaver.
I photographed her ventral side though, simply because I could get closer that way... I think that I'm going to order a macro lens soon ("Eeee").

I had a bad day photographically (and Goosle-ly: I didn't see them) because I went (apprehensively) to play paint-ball to celebrate a friend's marriage, and so didn't take my (proper) camera. Those who know me know that paint-balling is hardly my scene (I was invited rather apologetically), but I did enjoy the day and found it quite exhilarating in spite of the mess, exertion, and (repeated) moments of pain. I was even more helpful than the others anticipated which was quite satisfying; I surprised myself too.

p.s. I helped to dramatise the static Ida here by using "Bleach Bypass" in Nik Color Efex Pro 4. This simulates the omission (partial or complete) of the bleaching stage of colour film processing, leaving silver in the emulsion and so resulting in a B&W image over a colour one which gives it a desaturated but contrasty look. I also underexposed the image slightly to complete the look... What do you reckon?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.