On Flanders Field

I have had the privilege of working in peacebuilding for over 30 years. Despite over 3 decades of engagement, the existence of war and its legacy never ceases to challenge me. Peace is not merely the absence of war. That is cessation. Peace is a positive thing, it is tangible, it drives out hostility. I snapped this picture of a war memorial with my D5100, as I have been reflecting on WW1 recently.  For three months from 31 July 1917, the battle for a number of ridges south and east of the Belgian town of Ypres resulted in massive loss on both sides, with nearly half a million soldiers thought to be killed, wounded or missing. many of these were young teenagers, children who lied about their age to enlist. I am even more challenged to work towards a lasting peace that passes human understanding. "On flanders field the poppies grow..."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.