A gift of art

A little while ago I was at an event where I was a guest. I was honoured to be given a signed piece of art by a Chinese artist living in Belfast. It sits beside my desk and when I look at it I reflect on 3 things. First, this is a gift from a man who makes his living by selling art. His art is not defined by the price otherwise this would be worthless. Second, it says what it is, three shrimps, clasically depicted and beautifully sketched, it needs no interpretation on my part. Finally, it has a Chinese script which I can't read. Nonetheless , this art touches me.. despite my lack of awareness of the message. I am challenged to take things for what they are rather than always try to see inner meaning - whether that in when someone says something ambiguous, possibly spiteful, or when people try their best to do something and fail in that moment.  The art reminds me of what a human can achieve and more importantly what a human can give generously to another - with no prospect of any personal gain. The artist is acknowledged in the additional picture below.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.