Selfies from the Brink

By Markus_Hediger

Focus : Presence

Yesterday was a very special day – thanks to all of you, who showered me with comments, hearts and stars. My 300th blip was an important milestone for me, as I feel that I have completed the first stage in a process that has been nothing but thrilling and gratifying. I have learned tons of things not only about photography, but also about myself. I wanted to write about all this yesterday, but I realized that I couldn’t do it in a hurry. Every lesson I learned deserves its own blip. Summing it all up in a few words would have made it sound cheeky.
As I’m writing this, I have no idea what the second stage will consist of (I have another 300 blips to find out!). But before I venture into new territories, I feel the need to write down some of the main lessons I’ve learned until now and share them with you, who have been such an important part in all of this. You have inspired me, encouraged me, and cheered me on. I feel honored to be part of this community, and I want to honor your generosity by giving back a little bit. I will try to illustrate these “lessons” with macro shots (a first for me!) of tiny things I find around the house and in the garden. Today’s blip shows the tip of a palm leaf, shot from about two centimeters (less than an inch).  
***
When I spot something I want to photograph and look through the viewfinder, I’m completely focused on my subject. It happens almost automatically. I study the expression on the face, anticipate its movements, wait for the perfect moment to release the shutter. When I’m photographing an animal, I try to understand its character, the rhythm of its movements, observe the light and shadows falling on it and surrounding it. Sometimes, it’s the light or atmosphere of a place that attracts my attention, and I try to understand what it is that makes it special.
When I’m focused, I don’t think about anything else. I stop worrying about work, money or other kinds of personal conflicts. The only thing that matters in this moment is – this moment. It took me a while to understand that the opposite is also true: I worry when I’m not focused.
Photography has become a daily exercise in being present. I still need the help of my camera to experience these moments of worry-free presence, but I hope that eventually it will spill over into other activities and become a habit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.