Bi Beo !

Bi Beo (Be Alive !) was a Gaelic TV series I produced in 1993/4.   

it was anarchic, a bit arch but great fun and featured two young presenters finding out lots of things across the country , from how to cook traditional Gaelic dishes like Ceann Cropaig to how to do reiki and aromatherapy.

The opening sequence  of each of the six episodes showed a British Airways flight landing at Stornoway, a shot which was taken with the camera being driven along the taxi way pointing out the open side door of a Toyota people carrier with the driver desperately trying to match the speed of the landing plane.   I know because I was the driver.  

As that sequence ended the presenters came down the flight of steps which cut to an animated Gif (though they weren't called that then) of a highland cow in lurid colour braying "Bi Bro !" whilst lightening shot between its horns.

I found a screen grab of that gif when clearing a cupboard in my study today.  I am in the process of moving the study which has the accumulated papers, photographs and books of more than 20 years so I am discovering lots of fascinating things.   

The pictures  I am sorting out also allow for some dramatic contrasts as my extra shot shows.   The top  one was taken during our first winter at Feorlean - probably early 1993.   The bottom one was this afternoon, as work proceeds apace on the roof.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.