Laptop Armageddon!

What a carry on, nearly didn't have a blip today but I suppose in an emergency I can use the Windows phone or the old iPad.
I've got 3 old laptops.
1 - so out of date, couldn't be upgraded, so loaded with Linux. I like Linux for many reasons, particularly security, but some applications are not possible, TomTom Sat Nav being one.
2 - Keyboard doesn't work due to some idiot spilling coffee all over it (yes, that idiot would be me). The same idiot then proceeded to try to remove it with the idea of repairing which really saw it off. Ok with a wireless keyboard but cannot be upgraded from Windows Vista due to processor and HDD capacity
3 - crashes lots due to overheating although it is on Windows 10 it shouldn't be really. This is the one that I've been using for a good while now but yesterday was the last crash. Kept getting a blue screen with, words to the effect, "This PC cannot be fixed" and a sad face symbol.
I tried a few time, removed the battery for a few minutes which sometimes works but not this time.

I got number 2 out and managed to access the internet to investigate new laptops. Currys/PC World had this one (that I'm using now). It's an ASUS reduced from £349 to £234, can't be bad.
4GB RAM, 1TB HDD, 2.48Ghz CPU, 14 inch screen as opposed to 15.6 which really is neither here not there if you aren't doing big editing of photos and graphics.
We've certainly come a long way from our first computer which was a Dragon32, that's 32Kb, not GB or even MB, and you loaded it from an audio cassette. No monitor, you connected the computer to your TV set and most were monochrome but I seem to remember the Dragon32had colour, which had to be programmed in 'Basic' language of course.

Oh, and the Blip - F.M.I.L. went to church this evening and I went to pick her up but she wasn't finishes. I took the opportunity to look around and spotted the heads on the windows. Apparently they are of some priests and monsignors from the past.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.