She's HOME! :-)

Ruby had her parole board interview and they've released her to go home this morning.
What a shock when they popped in to see us. I saw Johanna and Luke arrive, went downstairs and thought "Why is Luke bringing the baby car seat in", then it struck me and I asked, in an incredulous sort of tone, "Is she in there?"! And she was, what a thrill.
Luke looked like he was going SCUBA diving with the oxygen tank on his back because she is still on 0.01% oxygen, hardly seems worth it but it does make a difference.
I SOOOOOOOO Wish I'd had my camera ready when Marlane came down the stairs, she had no idea and walked into the kitchen to absolute silence. She stopped and looked at us and then spotted Ruby in the car seat on the kitchen table. She was so shocked, her face was a picture, wish I'd got one!
I took some photographs, of course, but my favourite is one that Johanna took before leaving the Neonatal unit, and I decided it had to be my blip with that 'Today I am going home' card.
So happy for Luke and Johanna.

Another MONUMENTAL moment this afternoon was for the first time in her life, and much to my amazement, Marlane sat on the back of my bike, it was still in the garage but still an achievement. 
I had a motorbike when we met in 1974 but she would have nothing to do with it, or any other bike I had over the years. Today was the first time I'd managed to get her to show any interest at all!
Next step maybe touring Europe (I don't really think so though, being a bit optimistic!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.