I THINK I SEE PINK!!!

I have 2 routes to get to the beach...Cortez Rd., and Manatee Avenue. On my way out Manatee, I always glance to my left at 4 dead trees at the start of a nature preserve. It's usually about 50/50 that there are ospreys on the dead branches. Today, there were 3 ospreys, and...and...and...ONE ROSEATE SPOONBILL!! WOO-HOO!!

After quietly parking my van, and gently closing my door...more problems arose. The osprey eating his fish breakfast flew off. Another osprey chased after him, and the spoonbill was in silhouette. I liked that angle, but I wanted its front.

I avoided eye contact, and got directly underneath it. No good. I had to climb the waist-high wood fence, and struggle through some brush (put there to keep you from going over the fence) to get my shot.

What a pretty bird. He/she let me snap off quite a few before it flew off.

It was a thrill for me, because they are normally quite elusive and camera shy. Plus...by 7:25 a.m., I had my blip in the proverbial bag.

We're on the move again tomorrow...heading home to Michigan. We may make a stop in Tennessee...not sure yet. Regardless...it is 1250 miles home.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/76781400@N06/albums/72157684372609254    Eight other shots are on my Flickr page. Two more of the pink princess, and some pictures of a giant egret.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.