Optimism of youth

If youth, throughout all history, had had a champion to stand up for it; to show a doubting world that a child can think; and, possibly, do it practically; you wouldn’t constantly run across folks today who claim that “a child don’t know anything.”

I don't sleep well in the new flat. The heating pump runs constantly, circulating cold water uselessly round the radiators. The gulls wake at dawn and so do I.

Back across the bridge, we return home mid morning. I update one of our courses while Claire prepares to go buy a car. There's a flurry of phone calls when she gets to the dealers - a missing email with the new insurance details - but it gets sorted.

Angus is strimming. He's getting quite good at it.

I'm off to some startup event at the Turing Festival before Claire gets back with the new car and Megan. There's a VC speed-dating session, which I am entirely unprepared for - I don't have a 'pitch' and we're not even looking for investment. Or are we.

Back home I catch up with Megan. Her resit went "OK" and tomorrow, first thing, she heads to Edinburgh to get a lift to Belladrum with Mary. Next Monday she needs to get back, swap her bags and get to Glasgow airport for her flight to Durban. She has planned it out, but it looks wildly optimistic. Hopefully, Claire will be able to meet her in Edinburgh, because I'll be in Orlando.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.