GOOD PICKINGS IN OUR GARDEN

It’s another grey and quite windy day today, so as I didn’t feel like doing any housework, decided to have a wander around the garden again.  Once I was out there, I saw quite a lot of dead-heading that needed doing, so out came the secateurs and I started snipping.  There were also a lot of slugs and snails and Mr. HCB says the wet weather has made them worse - so we urgently need some sunshine now. 

When I saw the yellow Coreopsis, I guessed where either our big fat, slimy slug had been or perhaps it was a snail - whichever one it was, they have certainly decimated a lot of the flowers on this plant.  I know that some flowers are edible, but by the look of these, we won’t get a look-in!

The slugs and snails are obviously not that bothered about the beautiful pink Echinacea, for which I am very grateful, as it’s the only one I have at the moment and the Compassion roses seem to be untouched too.  I wonder if it’s the yellow colour of the Coreopsis that attracts them or the perfume?

After I had finished dead-heading, I watched a baby robin fly onto the fence, but as I only had my phone with me, and it was rather a long way away, the photograph was very grainy - Mr. HCB says that it was probably waiting for me to disturb a worm or two - perhaps it would like to gobble up a nice fat slug!

The Agapanthus is Mr. HCB’s pride and joy - they weren’t doing too well in the garden, so he moved them into a pot and since then, they have been much happier and are blooming well.

Off to the dentist this afternoon - a filling dropped out yesterday, so I had to get an emergency appointment.  When I spoke to Debbie, the receptionist, and said it was the filling that keeps dropping out, and it would take literally two minutes to re-insert, I suggested she might like to do, as a sideline to save bothering the dentist.  Mr. HCB suggested that they could go into business together as he had plenty of Polyfilla - that was not quite what I had in mind!

“By perseverance
     the snail
          reached the ark!”
Charles Spurgeon

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.