Plus ça change...

By SooB

Octagon-ish

Since the job is 90% done, you can see what I've been up to.  This is TallGirl's olive tree which is supposed to sit at the house-wards end of the swimming pool...  The poor thing had been waiting so long for the pool to go in (hey, haven't we all?) that we figured we'd better get it installed anyway.  I was going to build a hexagonal thing around it, to hold the soil in, but despite lots of excellent geometry work the other morning (I'd forgotten all about what sines are for - but TallGirl - with much eyerolling at my surprise - remembered).  But anyway, the materials I found made an octagon much more sensible - though I couldn't be bothered at that point to do any more calculations, so just built it by eye.  This would be fine if only my eye ever saw it...  I will just have to make sure it is finished and beyond sensible alteration before Mr B sees it!

So, last night.  Terrible night.  I don't know if there was something wrong with the pizza or something is wrong with me, but sleep was held at bay until nearly 6 by excruciating pain, nausea and fever.  Hurrah for radio 4 podcasts, and my fan.

This morning everything inside me is still a bit grumpy, but I can at least function.  Mr B is clearly off-grid, so I have no more desk-work to do (unless you count catching up on about 10 days' backblipping, but we couldn't call that work).  So I will go and wheelbarrow the rest of the necessary soil to the olive tree and then give it a well-deserved feed.  Then there may be some lying down and feeling sorry for myself, before delving into the box of box-set goodies that arrived this morning!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.