Meet Basil......

.....my Grandfather.

Mr W and I went to see Dunkirk in the cinema this afternoon. I gorged on a bag of popcorn.

The film was thrilling, thought provoking, scary, sad and left me feeling very emotional. 

My sister who visited from Australia last week told me that my Grandad was brought home on one of the civilian boats that went to Dunkirk to rescue 1000's of British soldiers. The Boat was called the 'Grey Goose'. I kept my eyes peeled for that boat in the film.

So when I got home, I just had to dig out a picture of Grandad Basil. And its just dawned on me that my mum named a pair of geese after my Grandparents. Phyllis and Basil used to chase the postman! I wonder if there was actually a connection?

There is so much I would love to learn from Basil Kemp-Gee and wish he was still around to ask.

xXx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.