It's been two storms and one king tide since I was last at the beach, a different way of measuring things but those were my thoughts. 

A southerly breeze was chilling as clouds took over the sky, bright light flickered on the sea while the wind whipped the tops off the waves. Seagulls called as tiny red banded dotterels skipped along the sand while oyster catchers gathered in great numbers at the river mouth. 

I was taken with the debris washed down the river, silvery tree tunks, branches of all sizes and many clumps of leaves and twigs entwined together. 

It was a long walk out to the river mouth, it really couldn't get any further away and once there quite choppy and rough as the river met the Pacific Ocean. 

On my way back I passed this lady who was just heading out for her daily walk round the estuary to the river mouth and returning via the sea. She was certainly striding it out and had covered some distance by the time I'd reached the car. 

Enjoyed being back at the estuary and beach, my home away from home :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.