And speaking of hummingbirds...

Dear Diary,

This little female Ruby-Throated Hummingbird sat still in Auntie's tree just long enough for me to get a picture of her.  I have tried, unsuccessfully I'm afraid, to get a photograph of her at the trumpet vine.  So, yesterday it was a hummingbird moth and today it is a feathered hummingbird! 

I was saddened to hear about the terrible fire at the Tokyo Fish Market yesterday.  The Tsukiji market is where the famous tuna auctions are held each morning.  I remember that I got up at 4 am to go see this event when I was in Japan in 2007.  I have added an extra photograph I made of a man labeling the tunas to be auctioned off.  Fortunately, no lives were lost in the blaze and the tuna auction at the Tsukiji market was held this morning as it has been for the last 80 years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.