Dorje Ling

I kept the children this morning. The rest of the day was quirky. Sue planned to come over to my place in the afternoon but had to wait for a fridge repairman who kept postponing till finally the day was over and no time was left for us. I was preparing for a meeting to plan more Buddhist public events for justice. Most of the group did show up, despite the heat: we met at Dorje Ling, a small, beautifully-cared-for Tibetan monastery in a 70s ranch-style home in a suburban neighborhood. As I looked around the circle of nine people, I felt how how much I appreciate them, each one with their lifetime of stories and delusions, hopes and flaws. Each one, precious to themselves and precious to me.


“Begin with an intention: to stay open to the present, available to curiosity and awe, and to pay attention to the beings the universe sends our way, knowing that we might come to deeply cherish them.” --Sharon Salzberg, in Real Love: The Art of Mindful Connection (2017).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.