A fitful night sleep, but it was good to have Rosie and Harry here. We talked a bit about what sort of funeral Dad and all of us would like, before walking down to the undertakers and meeting Keith there. It wasn't as harrowing as I expected, and I was so glad that R and H felt up to coming. The undertakers had some of the details already as last evening Keith and I went to visit a neighbour who is a retired curate, who knew my parents, as did his parents. I wanted someone who knew Dad to do the service if possible and he agreed.
Then back to Dad's to make phone calls to begin arrangements and cancel various things. Rosie sorted through some photos (the young ones are going to produce the order of service etc). We ate apple pie and choc ices to remember George. We took some of the photos with us to visit Jeanie in the care home. I showed her the photos, of their wedding, and others together, and she recognised herself. I explained that George had died yesterday. I managed to do it calmly the first time, but not quite so well the second time 30 seconds later. Mum did not seem upset, but the carers photocopied the photos so that they can go over it again with her. It was time for her to visit the on site hairdressers so we took her downstairs for a cut and blow dry. She looked very smart. We returned her upstairs to the little lounge where she is happy.
On to Waitrose, where we deposited all Dad's tinned goods into the Foodbank box. (He always supported the Food Bank). Home to eat before Rosie had to set off back to Bristol and Keith to London.
I am so tired and achy, but I did make an attempt at catching up on the washing and pushed the hoover half heartedly around downstairs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.