Holy Smoke

After work, met up with J in the city centre. Tapas at Lunya is not normally how we start our Friday's, but .......

I entered my first ever photographic competition a few weeks ago, organised by Manchester Cathedral. To my surprise, two of my photographs were shortlisted, and I had an invitation to an event organised to announce the winners in the three categories (architecture and stained glass, the cathedral at night, and something different). I didn't win, but the two I took are now on display until September. I will have another look before then.

The three category winners were excellent, and there was an overall winner. Here she is with her winning entry "Holy Smoke". There are 30,000 bees living in hives on the roof of the cathedral, looked after by Canon Adrian and his fellow apiarists, and this great shot is certainly something different. A very well deserved winner.

We had introduced ourselves before proceeding began, I recognised Beewriter from her blips. She was with Green56, another blipper, so this was an unexpected mini blip-meet of sorts. And as part of her prize, Beewriter is now official Manchester Cathedral photographer for a year. Good for her, and good for the Cathedral

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.