Smoky Moon

I thought the smoke was clearing but by nightfall it was as thick as ever. It was the kind of day when staying in would have been wise. But...

who lives their life being wise? Ha ha.

Raven came by to get me. We were going on a picnic where I would meet one of her gardening clients who Raven felt I'd enjoy. Luckily Pat, the client, was wiser and suggested we meet at her house instead of out at the beach. So we did. And Raven was right. I really enjoyed meeting Pat. She is an 82 year old who looks and acts like she is in her 70s. The two of us had a lot in common and the three of us had a lovely lunch together. Raven had made a very yummy chicken salad and I brought some fruit fizzy drinks. We had a great talk and explored Pat's interesting small house and large garden together until Pat had to leave.

While I was at Pat's I got a call from the floor guys. Turns out the flooring we ordered does not work with radiant heating so I needed to go back and choose a new wood. Raven suggested we go together, so I called the guy and he happened to be free. We spent a half an hour while I took out and put back many samples of flooring and Raven talked to the fellow's father, the owner of the business. He is a Polish immigrant and he and his sons speak Polish together while doing business. I like that he chose to keep his native language alive in their family.

I ended up picking the same wood I had originally chosen when we looked at the small samples at my condo. It is a light oak and should look very good in the two bedrooms.

Raven drove me home and I took a nap. The smoky air was getting to me and I needed a rest. I woke in time to go downtown to meet Helena for dinner at Eat and a walk to the Bay Street Village for the Friday Art Walk. We stopped in at Trish's studio and then went upstairs to my new studio. We had a good time and I ended up meeting many friends and having lovely visits with them.

After that Helena and I headed to Chocolate Necessities for gelato, the perfect way to round out the evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.