Art in Anacortes

After a morning of packing I took off for Anacortes to take in the annual art festival there. I drove to Dave and Nora's and joined Steve and Kai and the five of us walked downtown to the show.

About six blocks of downtown Anacortes are closed off for the first weekend in August and booths line the streets on both sides and in the middle. We walk down one side and back up the other checking out the art and crafts on display. The variety is wide and there are many wonderful things to see and buy. Often I buy Christmas presents there. This year I bought things (unabashedly) for me: a lovely jacket from Brie Kriebel, who sells shirts and jackets with quilted applique patches, earrings from Decker Jewelry and a lovely vase from Conrow Porcelain Studio. (I know. More things to move to my new place.) 

We stayed downtown until the day's activities ended. Then we all went to Anthony's for an al fresco dinner. We talked and laughed and finally it was time for us all the head home. Not too long after I got home the phone rang and I had a lovely conversation with my friend (we call each other ersatz siblings) Chris. He was checking in to see how my life was going and getting ready for a trip with Jyl that will end at his son's wedding. I've been invited and if I can squeeze it in, I would love to go. I've know their son since he was about ten years old. I'd love to be at his wedding.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.