A N Hornby's gravestone

In Acton churchyard near Nantwich. Hornby was one of the best known sportsmen in England, the first of only two men to captain the country at both rugby and cricket. He is also remembered as the England cricket captain whose side lost the Test match which gave rise to the Ashes, at home against the Australians in 1882. Additionally, he played football for Blackburn Rovers.

Visited my Dad this morning, then caught the bus up to Alpraham. Alf gave me a lift part way back, dropping me off at Barbridge and I walked along the canal back to Acton and then in to Nantwich again.

Dad seemed a bit more positive this afternoon, but eating, drinking and swallowing are clearly a problem, and his speech is increasingly slurred. Much discussion of a SALT (speech and language therapy) referral. In the meantime, I am trying to come up with foods or drinks that he might prefer to whatever Clarendon Court offer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.