Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

A chippie wave

Well, not really, of course. This is really just a fleeting moment in a quick face-wash after scarfing down peanuts.  But, it made me laugh and I think it qualifies for Silly Saturday, hosted by Admirer.  

I was trying not to blip another hummer today (although it was very tempting), so I thought I'd put a small bucket of peanuts out and see what happened.  Within a minute, one of the chippies was investigating.  The subsequent minute was hilarious in it's own right and if you have a moment, have a look at the collage in Extra for the outtakes.  

My second batch of 10 monarch suffered a loss last night.  When I went to bed, five of the cats were J-hanging from the top of the container, in preparation to pupate.  When I checked them this morning, four had pupated but one, unfortunately, had fallen from its silk "button" and was dangling by the thinnest of strands of silk.  I was able to get it down but discovered that the chrysalis was terminally damaged.  That's my second loss from this group as I had one third-instar cat mysteriously die.  But, it looks like 9 are going to become butterflies in the next couple of weeks.  Meanwhile, I've found still MORE eggs in the garden.  

The Caterpillar Known as M, who's life I am documenting daily, is doing well and molted into his third instar last night.  It's amazing how much he's grown in just one short week.  If you'd like to see a shot of him taken today, Click HERE.  And to see him emerging from his egg, see my blip from 29 July.

MIL was in good spirits this morning when I went to visit.  We sat outside for a while before I walked her up and down the hall.  We try to get here to walk as much as possible when we are there, although she doesn't care for it.  

Kura is on the bus, on her way out form NYC.  Blood orange mimosas are on the menu, to be consumed on the patio while watching hummers and butterflies in the garden.  I think both of us need this.

Hubs and SIL still haven't left Alabama yet, although the plan was to leave this morning.  Not sure what is holding them up, but hopefully they will get on the road soon.  SIL has a job interview Monday morning, so they kind of have to get back here by sometime Sunday night.  And no matter how you slice it, it's 880 miles. Yikes.

Happy Silly Saturday, people.  Thank you for stopping by.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.