Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

It's all a blur...

Yes, another hummingbird, but I make no apologies.  I chose this for today's "one" photo not because it was my best shot, but because I like the sense of speed and agility I think it captures.  Look at those wings!  (Taken at 1/1000, so you can get a sense of how fast he was traveling).  Look at that mid-air turn!  He is truly the master of flight.  Another shot of him, taken in the same burst, HERE on Flickr

Busy day.  I was over to my neighbors' farm very early to clip some milkweed - my big enclosure has all fourth and fifth instar cats and they are voracious.  Last time I checked them, about an hour ago, five were positioning to J and one had already changed into a chrysalis.  There are four more big cats eating milkweed, but I expect I'll find all of them doing their walkabouts tomorrow.  Then I have a small bit of breathing room until the next batch starts getting bigger.

I caught a female monarch laying eggs on tiny milkweed plants that I didn't even realize had seeded themselves in the garden.  I went around behind her snipping leaves with eggs.  Yikes.  Not sure how many eggs I have now - 20?  30?  Well, at least I have a good source for milkweed from my friends.  Their farm is all organic, so I know I don't have any risk of tainted milkweed.  

Visited MIL this morning, then lunch with a friend, then back here to do some cleaning.  And, of course, a .little time outside with the birds, bees and critters.

Hubs and SIL are making good progress on loading up the truck and still plan to depart Alabama tomorrow morning, which will put them here on Sunday evening.  Be glad to get this behind us.

Meanwhile, my bestie, Kura, is coming out tomorrow!  I'm a happy bunny. 

Thanks so much for stopping by.

xo
Debbi

And many thanks to Anni for hosting Flower Friday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.