Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Eastern Tiger Swallowtail

This has been a very poor year in our part of the country for many butterfly species, including these big, showy swallowtails.  Normally they are abundant with a spring and summer brood; this year, I've seen only a handful the entire season.  Evidently, though, enough of the first brood reproduced that the second brood is now emerging - just look how fresh she is.  No nibbles only a few nibbles gone out of her, scales still mostly all intact, nearly perfect in every way.  Not a difficult shot since this species likes to nectar with wings open.  So easy, in fact, that it almost feels like cheating to post it...but not quite!

I also watched a pair of worn Cabbage Whites in the garden with the male trying desperately to mate with the unwilling female.  She won.  But not before he'd chased her all over the yard and tried to force her to the ground a few times.  Sex in the butterfly world isn't always pretty.  I posted a shot HERE on Flickr of the female rebuffing the advances of her suitor.

Also in the yard today was a very agreeable Eastern Cottontail rabbit.  He/she let me get very close allowing me to get some nice eye-level shots.  My favorite is HERE on Flickr.

After so much rain the last few days, everything is soaked and there is some local flooding.  I knew that all the trails would be muddy, so that was my excuse for staying close to home.  Besides, I had to tend to my monarch kids and also make sure the Black Swallowtails were okay.  Happy to report that all are eating, pooping and growing.  Pretty much all the caterpillars do, actually.  Hoping to have my first few monarchs emerge maybe late this upcoming week.  And, yes, I'm still taking requests for releases.  Lots of room on the list, so get in touch with me if there is someone you've lost to whom you'd like to dedicate a monarch release.

Planning a quiet night at home this evening.  Maybe we'll sit out on the patio later and enjoy a glass of wine.  

Thanks for the love on my crazy little tiara-wearing beetle yesterday!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.