Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Nothing says "Friday" like a feather tiara!

I realize that not everyone shares my fascination with insects, but honestly, don't you think this one is pretty yard to resist?  I've never seen one before so grabbed a couple of quick shots before it disappeared under the milkweed leaf.  Then, some diligent searching to figure out what the heck it is.  You ready?

This fancy creature is in the Wedge-shaped Beetle (Family Ripiphoridae) family, and the Genus Macrosiagon.  And probably the reason I've never seen on is that the adults only live a few days.  The family of beetles is parasitic and this particular genus  parasitizes several species of wasp.  And according to my Beetle Guide, "information on their lives is fragmentary."  So, there you have it.  A party beetle with a feather tiara.  

Heavy rains this afternoon have kept me in, but this morning I had a little time in the garden where I found all kinds of interesting things.  I've posted a duskywing butterfly, an orange-bummed fly and a fuzzy-bummed fly starting HERE on Flickr - worth a peek if you have time.

I took a run over to friends' farm this morning to snip milkweed for my ever-growing monarch cats.  They are eating like there's no tomorrow.  

Had our regular quarterly meeting with the staff at MIL's home this morning.  I am grateful every day that we have her in a place that is small, where everyone knows her and where everyone cares.  And that it takes us under 10 minutes to get there.  We are so very lucky.

Now, let's all don our feathered tiaras and party like it's Friday!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.