a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Not what was planned

This is not what was planned for today at all.

I had originally arranged to meet Incredibish and my sister Janet for lunch in Southville in Bristol.  The idea was that we would have a spot of lunch and then have a look at the street art from the Up! Festival a few weeks ago.  I was sure that there would be some appropriate material for a blip in that little outing.  The best laid plans of mice and men came to naught however, as they got stuck in a horrible motorway snarl up on the M5 and ended up cancelling.  It took Cathy and I much longer than intended to get to Southville as well, I hadn't taken into account that the football season is just restarting and Bristol City were playing at home - doh!

Instead, left to our own devices Cathy and I went for a pub lunch only to have the cooker suffer electrical problems.  Lunch would be delayed we were informed.  We've definitely been jinxed :-) but despite all of that its been a pleasant day and very useful in terms of ticking off the weekend chores.  (Lunch was only a little late in the end, in case you are worrying).

As for the flower Cathy tells me its definitely not a black-eyed Susan. She thinks its probably a helenium (there was a small possibility of its being a rudbeckia apparently, but that's been ruled out now).  To me its a lovely yellow and orange thing with a cross between a black fez and a Christmas pud sitting in the middle where its no right to be :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.