Day 16

Day 16. Thurso to Wick via John O'Groats. 41 miles with a strong tail wind. We finally made it; 1032 miles in 16 days and nearly as many photos taken just by me.

By the time we finished our breakfast the early morning rain had passed over. We said good bye to b&b host Clair who was lovely and very chatty and loaded our bikes for the last official day. We set off, pushed by the wind for the 20 miles to John O'Groats arriving in sunshine. Once there, I was quite emotional this has been an epic journey, one that I would never of done if it had not been for Mr PB. I am very proud of ourselves for what we have achieved.

The visitor centre at John o'Groats is much nicer than Land's End. You don't have to pay to stand by the finger post for a start and you can get right up to it too. The lady on the shop congratulated us and asked us to sign the official LEJOG book.Tourist photos taken and more cake consumed, we cycled out to Duncansby Head for a look, Mr PB saying it was more northerly than JOG and then wind assisted the final 16 miles to Wick. Sunshine all the way,

Brief stop at Tesco where I wanted to stand in the middle of the shop and tell them all that I had just finished the LEJOG. We have a 4 hour train trundle from Wick to Inverness where we'll overnight at the YHA.

Weirdly I End the adventure with no knee pain, hand pain or saddle sore just a little pain from hot foot but nowhere as bad as it has been.

This holiday was a celebration of our 50th birthdays, wow.! I wanted to do it with Mr PB, but I really didn't think I would enjoy cycling the length of these beautiful countries so much. Happy birthday to us (September and November 2016)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.