Beewriter

By Beewriter

Chatsworth

The coven went off on an adventure today....to Chatsworth House. 

Last night was wonderful and I still can't believe that I won. I'd shared some pink fizz with Green56, but just as I was contemplating another glass I remembered I had an early start today, thank goodness I did....no-one wants to travel with a hangover!

We arrived at Chatsworth and went round the house, it was amazing. There was an exhibition of five centuries of fashion, with fancy dress costumes that the Devonshire family has worn. They weren't the 'polyester one size fits all' that you buy from Asda either, they were elaborate, beautifully crafted garments designed by famous names...oh they were wonderful. 

A little pit stop for a cuppa in the sunshine and then a mooch around the gift shops came next. They had some lovely things, but I didn't buy anything. Fortified with tea we went for a wander around the gardens.

We had wanted to have afternoon tea there, but it was booked up so we had arranged to have lunch at The Devonshire Arms....and a lovely lunch it was too. We decided to forego dessert there, instead we went to the farm shop further along the estate and had tea and cake there.....well we were on a jolly jaunt! 

What a lovely day out we had. We have talked so long about places we want to go to and now we have started on our list. I bought us all a postcard that says Don't Just Sit There Do Something....we have adopted it as the motto of the coven!!

I did take a few pics of us all, even though one member doesn't like having her pic taken. It was only when I looked at the pics tonight that I saw what Pat was doing on this one and the look Ellen was giving me ha ha ha. Oh they are such great friends!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.