But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Feathers.

We know that birds of prey visit us on an occasional basis, we see the evidence; a few times we’ve actually seen the birds themselves. Mrs TD has a picture of a buzzard with a pigeon firm clamped in its talons, while I have seen a disgruntled peregrine appear at the bird table a nano-second after a flock of goldfinches disappeared. Today, one of them struck lucky and had blackbird for lunch. It puts the TD household into a bit of a quandary: are we delighted that our rather wild garden attracts such magnificent birds, or do we get upset that the said magnificent birds are stealing our lovely blackbirds.
 
Herself and I sit on opposite sides of the fence but then, on my side of it there are plenty of song birds and I feel that I can spare a few to support those visitors to the garden that live higher up the food chain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.