But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Reflections on the Glenlee.

Having discovered yesterday, that one of my bee colonies was dying of starvation, I returned today to check on them. They were very busy clearing out all the carcases and dead larvae, storing the syrup that I had given them and generally tidying up. I was actually, pleasantly surprised at how many bees there were; I couldn’t find the queen but she will have slimmed down and be able to run around but with luck, she will be back laying in a few days’ time. Had she not been there, the bees would have been angry and let me know all about it.
 
In the evening the camera club had an outing to the Glasgow waterfront. The Glenlee is a metal hulled cargo ship completed in 1896 at Port Glasgow. Having served in the British merchant fleet for 23 years before beginning a chequered life, first in the Star of Italy line and then the Spanish Navy, eventually, in 1990, she was saved from the breaker's yard by an 89 year old naval architect, rebuilt to her original specification and is now part of the Riverside Museum at Pointhouse Bay.
 
Fortunately, I managed to arrange a reflection to obscure my face in this SP.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.