But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Nature Taking Over.

In three weeks’ time, on the final  week-end of “La Grand Boucle,” I pay my annual homage to my cycle racing past by taking part in a twenty-four hour time trial. I won’t finish first, not by a long chalk, but then I’m not likely to finish last either; that is an honour that will probably not be mine for another five or ten years – if I’m spared. I’m not as fit as I should be, but then every athlete says the same thing; the year started badly with me staggering about on a Zimmer frame and I was unable to exercise for about three months, and then it took a while to get started again. Today, in a desperate attempt to put things right, I went off on an eighty mile jaunt through the borders while keeping a wary eye open for subjects for the Derelict Sunday challenge.
 
Despite consuming a large breakfast beforehand, a Snicker bar, a significant portion of fish and chips and a large ice-cream en route, my trusty scales advise me that I burnt enough calories to lose a pound in weight during the course of the day. I’m now below ten stone with the target of weighing nine and a half when I eventually arrive at the start line. Mrs TD doesn’t like me being that slim but then, as I tell her, it’s cheaper to lose weight that way than to buy a titanium trike.
 
The Blip did cause me a little embarrassment as I was accosted by a man half my age who demanded, rather aggressively I thought, if I needed any help. With fifty hilly miles in my legs and a large portion of lunch in my belly, I didn’t wish to make an issue of anything, so I politely said, “No thank-you” and left as quickly as was seemly. But by then my objective had already been achieved.
 
The challenge is hosted by JanetHH and has the theme of “Nature”.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.