But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Poppy Buds.

After a fairly strenuous cycle ride yesterday, (with the resulting Blip just having been posted) I felt entitled to a lie-in this morning. Then a late breakfast was quickly followed by an early lunch and falling asleep while watching the rather long last set of the Tsonga-Isner tennis match. John Isner has a reputation for this long drawn-out affairs having beaten Nicolas Mahut by 70 games to 68 in the final set back in 2010
 
Of course, there were other things that I should have been doing. Finishing mending the potting shed for Herself; feeding the bees (there’s a national warning out to beekeepers that the poor things are starving to death due to the weather), and making and repairing loads of other things.
 
In Spain, they have the word “mañana,” I once had to explain its meaning to an Irishman; when the definition finally registered, he asked why the Spanish had to be in such a hurry. That’s the feeling I’ve had today, but I’ll be back to normal tomorrow; then on Wednesday I’ll need a little more exercise. I did manged to drag myself out into the garden this evening and found a patch of these exotic poppies in bud; they’re a bit “blousy,” but do produce loads of pollen to attract the bees.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.