Lizellens Lot

By lizellen

A Break in the Weather.

After a night of rain,  from outside I could hear the sea roaring . As soon as the rain eased I drove to the closest part of the coastline that we call the Kumeras and walked along the track until reaching the beach.

It was amazing - with the tide high, waves were crashing noisily onto the beach and misty spray half hid the hills.

Best of all, huge flocks of gulls and pied oyster catchers who had been sheltering in the paddocks next to the track, rose into the air, swirling overhead in a huge cloud of birds as they made their way back to their fishing spots. There were groups of birds in all directions and the one I liked best is in the extras. It is a  very large flock of seagulls, acting out a murmuration. Can you have a murmuration of gulls? Also in the extras is a view looking North and a view looking South.

One bird I really enjoyed was a solitary singer who flew like a swallow but very high in the sky and sang a beautiful song. I looked it up when I got home and found it was a skylark. 

I could have stayed there all morning but the rain had returned so I headed back to the car.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.