Repeatable?

A standard Saturday: grocery shopping; distributing it and visiting elderly relatives. Home by 6pm

Then out for a second time to the light display Bloom for its second and final evening. The show is on a 20 minute loop so it provides several opportunities to get specific photos.

Just before midnight the fireworks from the castle at the end of the tattoo went up. I happened to be in the centre of the square and got this view.

Afterwards I reflected on the fact that this is unlikely ever to be captured again. The light show is now finished and while the fireworks will be repeated the environment will never be the same.

But taking that further that can be said about every photograph. No one else will ever be standing in the same spot with the light, wind, movement exactly the same. The overall environment might be similar, but the specifics will differ.

Just like the extra I took on my way down to North Berwick to visit my mother. It was a day of sunshine and showers and dramatic clouds. This view looking north showed the clouds – but also a paddle boarder braving the weather. That added an unlikely to be repeated view.

I’ve decided not to overthink this and just continue to enjoy taking photos that I like and help form memories.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.