The Lancashire Fusilier

Today was the first day of the steam trains running down the Borders Railway. This year they are coming down from Fife, over the Forth Bridge, through Waverley Station and down to Tweedbank. I do like when I can plan a blip rather than just hunting about, so I was on the footbridge between Langlee and Netherdale about ten minutes before it arrived.

Im not much of a train spotter, but I googled the number on the front and discovered that the train is called "The Lancashire Fusilier". It pulled a fair number of carriages, with four hundred people on board, according to the man from the tourist board I spoke to last week. It also pulls a diesel locomotive so that it can be pulled back up the track, there is nowhere to turn the train down here, this happens once it is almost back in Edinburgh.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.