Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Time to Garden

For the last day of my week off, I spent the morning downloading photos to my desktop PC and doing mundane things like the washing.  However, not wanting to waste the nice weather, I took myself off to West Green House Gardens for a delicious quiche and salad lunch, followed by a walk around the gardens.

I was impressed by the walled kitchen garden, which has adopted a style of planting vegetables with underplantings of flowers, arranged like the lush summer borders of other grand houses and gardens.  I might try something similar (on a smaller scale) next year.

The final stop was the greenhouses, which are clearly used for events. A magnificent grape vine serves as shading, while specimen plants and flower arrangements provide the decoration.  Collections of old clay pots are scattered around, and I liked this arrangement with an old clock face.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.