Linnet

The caost beckoned once again, so I headed down the A3 (through some torrential rain I might add) to Titchfield Haven, a National Nature Reserve on the coast near Fareham where the Meon River flows into the Solent.

I had a lovely afternoon wandering around the reserve visiting the hides - but once again bemoaning the limitations of my 300mm lens. Not that it would have helped capture the flash of blue as a Kingfisher sped across the meadows!  I also saw Kestrals hunting and a Buzzard, as well as the usual range of coastal birds (just don;t ask me to name them!)

As I was leaving the reserve I spotted some small brown tits-like birds in a bush, but they were too shy to get a photo - some "birders" leaving at the same time told me they were Sedge Warblers. A few minutes later they pointed out some birds in the hedgerow I personally have never seen before: a pair of linnets.  My blip shows the female, the extra shows the pair, with the male showing off his rosy breast in the late summer sun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.