Knole Deer

I headed home after a couple of days with Mum via Knole, the ancestral home of the Sackville family, who still live in the house today, although the house set in its 600 year old medieval deer park is now in the care of the National Trust.

I visited the magnificent showrooms following in the feet of visitors for 400 years. They were never intended to be used, but designed to say "look how rich and important we are".  The top of the Gatehouse Tower gives a gives a view over Knoles 17th century roofline and deer park, while the newly opened Conservation Studio allows you to watch conservators at work and gives you a glimse of the tools of their trades.

During a final stroll round the park, I saw plenty of fallow deer, but this young stag and a fawn nestling down in a clump of grass took my eye, and is my blip of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.