Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Eastern Wood-Pewee

I hear these birds all the time, they have a very distinctive call. Like their look alike flycatcher relatives, the Easter phoebes, they say their name: "pee-a-WEE" - which is helpful. What isn't so helpful is that they're often very hard to spot. There was, however, a pair of them this afternoon hunting in my vegetable garden! They sat on the fence, dove in after an insect, and then swooped back out - repeatedly. I was assuming they were phoebes until I looked more closely at them when I got the photos uploaded. Phoebes don't have wingbars (you can hardly see them in this shot, but they're there) - and their bills are black rather than two-toned. Also they are overall darker, particularly on their heads, and a bit stockier. So I'm going with peewee! They are summer visitors and will be leaving us to head south before too long.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.